Connect with us


Staff Mark End of VC’s Tenure with Mock Coffin at OAU



A new twist was yesterday introduced in the Obafemi Awolowo University, OAU, Ile-Ife, Osun State, by the protesting workers under the aegis of Senior Staff Association of Nigeria University, SSANU, and Non Academic Staff of University, NASU, as they stormed the university with a mock coffin, baked and shared bean cake (Akara) to formally end the tenure of the Vice Chancellor, Prof ‘Tale Omole.

Prof. Omole, who officially ended a five year tenure as VC yesterday, had been at loggerheads with the two protesting unions since the process of appointing a new Vice Chancellor commenced.

The workers accused Omole of imposition, with the emergence of Prof. Ayobami Salami as Omole’s successor. At the university’s campus yesterday, a mock casket with the inscription “RIP Tale Omole” was laid at scene of the protest while bean cakes were shared by staffers to mark end of Prof. Omole’s tenure.

Meanwhile, the prolonged protest by the non academic staffers of the institution may have consumed its leadership as the national secretariat of the body announced dissolution of the executive council of the body for the institution.

The NASU’s national body in a letter of dissolution obtained in Ile Ife, said it dissolved the executive body for OAU chapter because it did not seek its permission before embarking on the ongoing strike and protest. SSANU Chairman, OAU Branch, Comrade Ademola Oketunde, however vowed that his union will continue with the struggle, insisting that choice of Professor Ayobami Salami as the new Vice Chancellor would not be accepted.

Oketunde said the new Vice Chancellor would not be allowed to resume, until all their demands were met.

Listen Live

Freedom Radio Kano 99.5 FM Freedom Radio Kaduna 92.9 FM Freedom Radio Dutse 99.5 FM Dala FM Kano 88.5

Now Streaming

Subscribe to Freedom Radio via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340,340 other subscribers.

Copyright © 2019. Freedom Radio Group. All Rights Reserved.

error: Content is protected !!